Happy (Belated) Birthday! (and a new top ten list)

happybirthday!It seems hard to believe, but today last Monday The Soul of the Plot turned one year old. Now, I would be lying if I said I never thought I’d make it this far, because I did want to be blogging all throughout college at the very least, but that doesn’t mean I didn’t envision a possibility where I would wimp out and quit (August for example; I had zero motivation during that month). I did have to stop with the “Quote of the Day” posts unfortunately, and I’m posting a lot less now that I’m working and school has started up again, but I am still here and that’s the main thing.

I’m not sure if I’ve gotten better at writing at all, still some posts come easier than others, but for the most part I’m happy with where I’m at. I definitely have learned more about the technical side of things both from other blogs and classes, so that’s definitely a plus. I still don’t know a whole lot, but I know a whole lot more than when I started. I would like to be posting a bit more frequently as I was doing in the beginning of this year, but with school and work that’s just not going to happen any time soon. I’m going to try to get to three posts a week, but no promises because I am very busy these days.

Because things have been so busy lately, I haven’t really had a chance to make any big plans for the blog. I’ve fallen behind on a lot of stuff, including many directors’ filmographies. That sounds really negative, but I don’t actually mind having more time to explore directors’ work. I did get through Tarantino and Fincher in my first year and that’s not too shabby. Hopefully by next year I will have Kubrick and Scorsese to add to that list. In terms of marathons, I did do a Hitchcock, Best Picture, and Sci-fi this year, and sometime in the future I would like to do superhero and animation marathons as well. And the Best Picture marathon will be back in February while I’m gearing up for the Oscars.

One thing that I’ve been working on a lot over the past year is a top 100 list. A lot of lists of definitive films are out there and I really want one! It’s not for the lack of trying, I’ve started about a million of them with mixed results. I’ve never actually made one containing a hundred movies though. When I started the blog, I put my top ten list of movies over on the side so people would know what kind of movies I liked and where I was coming from when I referenced a favorite film. Times change though, so I thought I’d start a tradition of revisiting the top ten list every year. Maybe someday I’ll be able to increase it, but for now the top ten will just have to suffice.

Coming in at number 10 is….
title_pulpfiction Directed by Quentin Tarantino
Released 14 October 1994
First seen by me 17 March 2013
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Pulp Fiction! I just recently watched this with a couple of people who had not seen it before, and it reminded me of how much I love this film. The ending especially is just about the greatest thing. So funny! But it’s not all fun and games, the reason why I picked this as my favorite Tarantino film is the roller coaster ride of emotions as things go from sort of depressing, to totally depressing, to really awesome. Classic Tarantino, I really couldn’t leave it off the list. girlyoullbeawomansoon_pulpfiction “The truth is you’re the weak. And I’m the tyranny of evil men. But I’m tryin’, Ringo. I’m tryin’ real hard to be the shepherd.”

Coming in at number 9 is…..

title_thegodfather

Directed by Francis Ford Coppola
Released 24 March 1972
First seen by me Spring 2011
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Classic mafia movie, and in my opinion, the best ever. I love this movie because it’s so darn classy. You get a great cast of actors, being super classy mafia style in 1940s New York. There are lots of quotable lines and classic scenes. Look how many times I’m using the word “classic” or some variation thereof! It’s just the best word for this movie. The gangster/mafia genre is one of the best, and this is the best of that bunch. Great film all around, and I’m happy to put it on my list. thegodfather_thedondies ““I never wanted this for you…  But I always thought that when it was your time, that you would be the one to hold the strings.”

Coming in at number 8 is….

title_drstrangelove

Directed by Stanley Kubrick
Released 29 January 1964
First seen by me around 2008 or so
Not yet reviewed

This is such a hilarious movie. I love it so much! It narrowly missed out when I was making the list last time. For some reason, I usually watch this movie when I am really tired so I end up falling asleep, but I always wake up for the end. Great ending, by the way. I have seen the whole movie though, don’t worry! I do plan on reviewing it soon; I’ve had a real strong desire to watch it lately…

georgecscott_drstrangelove

“Gentlemen, you can’t fight in here! This is the War Room.”

Coming in at number 7 is….

title_bonnieandclyde

Directed by Arthur Penn
Released 13 August 1967
First seen by me Fall 2010
Not yet reviewed

Let me just quote what I said about this film last year, because it’s basically still true: “Bonnie and Clyde were total rebels and whenever I wish I was one, I watch this film. I’m not saying I get urges to rob banks and shoot innocent bystanders, but sometimes I just don’t like society. It happens to everybody at some point, right? So at least I can watch this movie and not go on a criminal rampage, which is always good.”


texasrangerpicture_bonnieandclyde
“This here’s Miss Bonnie Parker. I’m Clyde Barrow. We rob banks.”

Coming in at number 6 is….

title_marypoppins

Directed by Robert Stevenson
Released 27 August 1964
First seen by me as a small child
Not yet reviewed

I haven’t seen this film in a while, but it’s one of my favorites from my childhood, so I kept it on. I love the songs in this movie, and it’s just a great one. I love how they mix animation into it, and Julie Andrews and Dick Van Dyke are pretty great.

turtles_marypoppins “Supercallifragilisticexpialidocious!”

Coming in at number 5 is……

titleish_thelifeanddeathofcolonelblimp

Directed by Michael Powell and Emeric Pressburger
Released 29 March 1943
First seen by me Summer 2013
Not yet reviewed

This is still a relatively new (to me) film, but I really love it. The Criterion is fantastic, I have to go out and recommend it. The commentary is great too, and I’ll admit that’s a big part of the reason of why I like this film. Anyway, the story is great, the characters are great, and the color is especially great. Part satire, part drama, and basically everything in between, it rose up on my list of favorites with unprecedented speed.  myfriendscallmejohnny_thelifeanddeathofcolonelblimp

“Clive! If you let yourself be defeated by them, just because you are too fair to hit back the same way they hit at you, there won’t be any methods but Nazi methods!”

Coming in at number 4 is…..

title_onthewaterfront

Directed by Elia Kazan
Released 29 July 1954
First seen by me Spring 2012
Not yet reviewed

I plan on reviewing this film next February, as it won the Oscar in ’54 and I can’t wait to see it again. It’s a great morality tale, with the main character triumphing over his own sense of self preservation to truly do the right thing. While there’s the political background to deal with, the film itself is about doing what you think is right despite what anybody else thinks, and that’s a universal theme despite the politics. It’s pretty inspiring, and I will always defend the film on this basis. The acting and writing is fantastic, and the ending is unbelievable.

icouldabeenacontender_onthewaterfront

“You don’t understand. I coulda had class. I coulda been a contender. I coulda been somebody, instead of a bum, which is what I am, let’s face it. It was you, Charley.”

Coming in at number 3 is….

poster_thebandwagon

Directed by Vincente Minnelli
Released 7 August 1953
First seen by me as a small child
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Absolute favorite musical. Ever. I love every song in this movie, and I have since before I can remember. There are very few movies that I love this much. There are also great dance numbers, and a great script by Betty Comden and Adolf Green. Really funny but with a touch of sadness and self doubt that eventually gets overcome.

girlhunt_thebandwagon

“I should have listened to my mother. She told me only to be in hit shows.”

Coming in at number 2 is….

title_vertigo

Directed by Alfred Hitchcock
Released 28 May 1958
First seen by me Spring 2011
Reviewed 28 October 2012

It would be crazy to think I could get through this list without mentioning The Master of Suspense: Alfred Hitchcock. While it is considered by Sight and Sound to be the greatest film of all time, there is still one that beats it for me. No, it’s not Citizen Kane. But anyway, I still vividly remember the first time I watched Vertigo. At that point, it was one of the strangest films I had ever seen. I didn’t know what hit me. I also didn’t yet know the magnitude of genius that I had witnessed. Luckily I was motivated to rewatch it, and was completely gripped the whole time. Admittedly, it has lost some of its bite from rewatching it too many times, but I still enjoy it immensely.

followingmadeline

“All right. All right then, I’ll do it. I don’t care anymore about me.”

Coming in at number 1 is….

poster

Directed by David Lean
Released 16 December 1962
First seen by me Summer 2012
Reviewed 10 February 2013

That’s right, Lawrence of Arabia has dethroned The Right Stuff as my favorite film. Whether this is the right call or not, when I saw this movie on the big screen over the summer, I knew it was my favorite. Maybe that’s why it’s my favorite, because I could even better sense the scope of the film surrounded by about 400 other enthusiastic people. Regardless, I love the cinematography, story, performances of this film, and basically just about everything. Lawrence is a fascinating character and Peter O’Toole’s performance is one of the best of all time. The film is very quotable, which is definitely something I look for in a favorite. What else can I say? I just love this film. A lot.

oscar1962lawrenceofarabia

“Truly, for some men nothing is written unless they write it.”

So there you have it, my new top ten. Hopefully I’ll improve next year and expand it to 20 or even 25 titles (and actually finish it for the blog’s birthday, that you would be nice). But regardless of any of my shortcomings, thank you to everyone who has read, subscribed, or commented on the blog over the past year. It means a lot. Here’s to another good year of blogging!

21 responses to “Happy (Belated) Birthday! (and a new top ten list)

  1. I definitely understand trying to balance this and college, like I’m doing right now. I’ve been using my blog for my college Film Club and so far my faculty advisors are impressed with my initiative.

    • It’s actually not so much college that’s the problem as working. If I was only doing one, blogging would be a lot easier.
      That’s a good way to do it! The film society here is not super active and I’m not anywhere close to being in charge, but I have reviewed some of the films they screened in the past like Days of Heaven and Eyes Wide Shut.

  2. Great list. I got to see a remastered version of Lawrence of Arabia last year on a big screen and it was truly awesome. Easily one of the greatest films of all time.

    And congrats on making to a year!

    P.S. You should The Right Stuff. The book is even better than the film.

    • I know right?!? Lawrence on a big screen is like the most amazing thing 🙂
      Thanks!
      I did try reading the book a few years back and didn’t get very far, but I saw the movie first. If I remember correctly, I didn’t take to it because it focused on different characters that didn’t have as much of a place in the film (like he was writing about Wally Shirah when I wanted to hear about John Glen and Gordo Cooper and such). But you’re right, I should try again.

  3. Happy Birthday! A great list filled with classics. Vertigo is my number 2 film too. I guess you like films from the Golden Age more than recent ones.
    Congratulations and hope you continue blogging for many more years to come.

    • Thanks! It would appear that way from my top ten, but I do like a lot of recent films as well. I’ve seen a lot more recent films than old ones, so there’s a variety of some I like and some I don’t. With the old ones, I mostly just end up watching the ones I like.
      Thanks again! I hope I can go for a few more years at least ha ha 🙂

  4. Congratulations and Happy Birthday, Hunter!

    You’ve chosen some true gems to critique. I’ve been a huge fan of Powell and Pressburger’s, ‘The Life and Death of Colonel Blimp for ages. Telling an expansive story well through constantly changing times and cultures. And Deborah Kerr’s multiple roles. Each more subtly changed than the last!

    • Thanks!
      I LOVE The Life and Death of Colonel Blimp. It’s unbelievably good on so many levels. I feel like it’s really underseen too.

  5. Congrats on the blog Hunter! I need to see The Band Wagon and Lawrence of Arabia still! Although I really want to see The Life and death of Colonel Blimp now. So I have a question if it’s not Citizen Kane or Vertigo, what is it!?

    • Thanks!
      Yeah, you do. lol
      You mean what I think the best film is? Idk, not qualified to decided. I do like Citizen Kane a lot though, it’s probably in my top twenty. Just missed on the top ten though.

        • That is pretty nifty! I mean, how do you decide “the greatest” film ever? That’s too much power for one person to have ha ha…. Consensus is really what you’re testing, so if A TON of people like it and think it’s the best, than it is, from my point of view.

          • Mmmm so you are more so towards IMDbs list of “the greatest film” it’s based off the users ratings I believe? Yeah Eberts seemed like a list of important films with a mixture of personal reasons haha which kind of makes it a little less valid if you know what I mean?

            • Well I would trust Sight and Sound over Imdb because the people who are reaching a consensus presumably know a bit more about film. Imdb is more of a popularity contest, and even though sight and sound is too, the people who are voting know more about the topic.

  6. I take it you’ve never seen Vertigo in 70mm then :P.

    Great list, only one I personally don’t like is Bonnie and Clyde, the tone of that film doesn’t really work for me. Vertigo is my #1, but Lawrence is utterly fantastic too. The restoration is absolutely astonishing, it shows that directors didn’t need IMAX 3D to create a stunning picture!

    Sadly, Vertigo isn’t being restored yet, Universal is penny pinching on that one and the Bluray has lots of problems. The bastards! But I’ve always heard from cinephiles that the 2 most beautiful 70mm films are Vertigo and Lawrence.

    • Thanks!
      Nope. Just a regular old DVD. 😦
      Yeah, well I hope they get on that too. It would be great to see it restored on the big screen.

  7. Congrats on making it through the year! That’s no easy feat. And your top 10 has some great films on it. One hasn’t truly seen Lawrence of Arabia until you’ve seen it in a theater.

    • Thanks!! Yeah, Lawrence was pretty amazing. I’m not sure if it would be my number one if I hadn’t seen it in the theater, to be honest.

Leave a comment