Blindspot 2017

blindspotseries2017

Another year, another set of foreign films for the blind spot series. I may or may not get to all of them, and I’m sure like usual they will be varying degrees of challenging to incomprehensible, but with God as my witness I’ll keep soldiering on.

The Blindspot series has sort of been a case of diminishing returns over the past two years that I’ve done it, so it may seem foolish for me to make another attempt. That sort of comes with the territory though, I feel, as the whole point of the series is to challenge yourself with world-renown classic films. Of course there’s going to be lots of confusion and struggle that goes along with it. So far I’ve only gotten one 4-star review out of the series, and have wimped out on watching almost half the films that I was supposed to, but ya know, that one 4-star film was worth it.

I’m keeping the same rules this time around, one Best Picture winner for February, at least one silent film, one animated film (decided to go back to animation after not getting to my documentary pick last year), at least one film from each decade from the 1920s to the 1990s, and the majority of the films have to be foreign. This year I’m bringing back all of your European giants, France, Italy, and Germany, plus countries I’ve never visited for the series, including India, China, and Argentina.

Without further ado, here’s the schedule of international films for 2017:

FW Murnau’s The Last Laugh (Germany, 1924)
Jean Vigo’s L’Atalante (France, 1934)
Roberto Rossellini’s Rome, Open City (Italy, 1945)
Carl Theodore Dreyer’s Ordet (Denmark, 1955)
Satyajit Ray’s The Big City (India, 1963)
Michael Cacoyannis’ Zorba the Greek (UK/Greece, 1964)
Werner Herzog’s Aguirre, the Wrath of God (West Germany, 1971)
Andrei Tarkovsky’s Solaris (USSR, 1972)
Luis Puenzo’s The Official Story (Argentina, 1985)
Hayao Miyazaki’s My Neighbor Totoro (Japan, 1988)
Chen Kaige’s Farewell My Concubine (China, 1993)
Mel Gibson’s Braveheart (US, 1995)

I think I have a good group of film’s for this next year; with me luck and look for the first entry on January 31st!

5 responses to “Blindspot 2017

  1. Out of the films you mentioned, I’ve only seen Aguirre and Solaris. Both are excellent, and the former was a chief inspiration for Apocalypse Now. Really need to see The Last Laugh, I saw Murnau’s Sunrise recently and thought that was amazing. Unfortunately I’m not a fan of Braveheart, and much of that has to do with my personal contempt for Mel Gibson.

    • Glad I can look forward to both Aguirre and Solaris!
      I saw a clip of the last laugh in a cinema and literature class i took four years ago, and still haven’t watched the film. I’ve wanted to see it ever since then! I really need to see Sunrise too, I’ve only seen Nosferatu of his.
      Yeah… Braveheart was a choice not so much based on desire to see the actual film and more on the fact that is probably the most famous best picture winner that I haven’t seen yet. *shrug*

  2. This is an awesome list and I haven’t seen any of these, save Braveheart and Totoro. I really need to challenge myself with a Blindspot as well.

Leave a Reply

