The 87th Academy Awards…. The Winners

oscarbanner

Every year I get excited for the Oscars and then that all goes away when I remember how I always underestimate how long the ceremony takes. But anyway, I’m in for the long haul and here are my notes from last night two nights ago (because I’m a slacker)!

Best Supporting Actor

Whiplash-5547.cr2

Nominees: Robert Duvall for The Judge, Ethan Hawke for Boyhood, Ed Norton for Birdman, Mark Ruffalo for Foxcatcher, and JK Simmons for Whiplash

Who I’m rooting for: JK Simmons for Whiplash

My prediction: JK Simmons for Whiplash

And the award goes to: JK Simmons for Whiplash

Awww yeah! 1/1, 100% correct so far. Literally no one is surprised by this, but good for him. My stream went out, so I didn’t see the speech.

 

Best Costumes

wellberightdown_thegrandbudapesthotel

Nominees: The Grand Budapest Hotel, Inherent Vice, Into the WoodsMaleficent, and Mr. Turner 

Who I’m rooting for: Inherent Vice

And the award will go to: The Grand Budapest Hotel 

And the award goes to: The Grand Budapest Hotel

2 for 2 guys. Look who knows how to look things up on the internet, this girl. Wow, this person who did costumes for Barry Lyndon, that’s legit.

 

Makeup and Hair-styling

andyouthinkididit_thegrandbudapesthotel

Nominees:  Foxcatcher, The Grand Budapest Hotel, and Guardians of the Galaxy 

Who I’m rooting for: The Grand Budapest Hotel

My prediction: The Grand Budapest Hotel 

And the award goes to: The Grand Budapest Hotel 

3/3, still at 100%. I didn’t have a ton of feelings about this category, so cool.

 

Foreign Language film

hair_ida

Nominees: Ida, Leviathan, Tangerines, Timbuktu, and Wild Tales

Who I’m rooting for: Ida

My prediction: Ida

And the award goes to: Ida

4 for 4! I actually was interested in the outcome of this one, as I rooted for the only film that I had seen. Yeah, guy, you keep giving your speech! The orchestra tried to play him off twice and he’s like, nah I’m gonna keep congratulating people I don’t care about your schedule! More power to him, man.

Best Live Action short: I’ll admit it, I don’t know anything about this category. Didn’t predict it, but “The Phone Call” wins it. Congrats!

Best documentary short: “Crisis Hotline: Veterans Press 1” Yay!

Aw man it really pisses me off how the orchestra plays people off who are thanking the people that helped them out making the achievement of their lives and the Academy is like “nah we have to get back to NPH’s stupid puns and talking to random audience members.” Ugh, they’re cutting the wrong stuff out.

Okay, I’m glad they didn’t cut this out this is great. Birdman + Whiplash references…. yeeees!!!

Sound mixing

teller_whiplash

Nominees: American Sniper, Birdman, Interstellar, Unbroken, and Whiplash

Who I’m rooting for: Unbroken

My prediction: Whiplash

And the award goes to: Whiplash

I’m 5 for 5 right now, I’m kind of worried I’ll get everything else wrong….

 

Sound editing

cominghome_americansniper

Nominees: American Sniper, Birdman, The Hobbit: The Battle of Five Armies, Interstellar, Unbroken

Who I’m rooting for: Unbroken

My prediction: American Sniper

And the award goes to: American Sniper

6/6 oh yeah, killing it. Just explained the difference between sound mixing and sound editing to my friends, because I know that now, aw yeah.

 

Best Supporting Actress

asakid_boyhood

Nominees: Patricia Arquette for Boyhood, Laura Dern for Wild, Kiera Knightley for The Imitation Game, Emma Stone for Birdman, and Meryl Streep for Into the Woods 

Who I’m rooting for: Kiera Knightley for The Imitation Game

My prediction: Patricia Arquette for Boyhood

And the award goes to: Patricia Arquette for Boyhood

7 for 7, I am literally on fire. In a plot twist that surprises no one, the acting categories continue to be painfully predictable. I like Patricia Arquette though so even though I wouldn’t have picked this performance, I’m not mad she won or anything. Equal rights yay!

 

Visual Effects

annehathaway_interstellar

Nominees: Captain America: The Winter Soldier, Dawn of the Planet of the Apes, Guardians of the Galaxy, Interstellar, and X-Men: Days of Future Past

Who I’m rooting for: Interstellar

My prediction: Interstellar

And the award goes to: Interstellar

8 for 8, seriously, I’m starting to get worried now. I have to be wrong at some point right?!? Apparently not. But yay Interstellar!

Animated short: I don’t predict this one either, but it’s “Feast.” Nice.

So far Zoe Saldana’s dress is my favorite! Rosamund Pike gets second place (why does this keep happening to her ugh…..?)

 

Best Animated Feature

giantwhiteguy_bigherosix

Nominees: Big Hero Six, The Boxtrolls, How to Train Your Dragon 2, Song of the Sea, and The Tale of Princess Kaguya

Who I’m rooting for: The Tale of Princess Kaguya

My prediction: How to Train Your Dragon 2

And the award goes to: Big Hero Six

What?!??! First surprise of the night guys. Just goes to show you that the first instinct is the best one. I thought this one had the most hype out of all of them but no one was predicting it so I though, “whelp, I don’t know what I’m talking about, I’ll go with what everyone else is saying” but that makes my average go down, to 8/9.

 

Production Design

The Grand Budapest Hotel

Nominees: The Grand Budapest Hotel, The Imitation Game, Interstellar, Into the Woods, and Mr. Turner 

Who I’m rooting for: Into the Woods

My prediction: The Grand Budapest Hotel

And the award goes to: The Grand Budapest Hotel

9/10. Still doing pretty well. Sad that Into the Woods didn’t get it, but not as sad when Anna Karenina didn’t win like 2 years ago. Yup, I still remember that.

 

Cinematography

emmastone_birdman

Nominees: Roger Deakins for Unbroken, Emmaneul Lubezki for Birdman, Dick Pope for Mr. Turner, Robert Yeoman for The Grand Budapest Hotel, and Lukas Zal and Ryszard Lenczewski for Ida 

Who I’m rooting for: Emmaneul Lubezki for Birdman

My prediction: Emmaneul Lubezki for Birdman

And the award goes to: Emmaneul Lubezki for Birdman

CHIVOOOOOO!!!! Yeah, so up to 10/11.

thegodfather_ending

Oh, time to be despressed by the In Memoriam part. James Garner, Gordon Willis, Robin Williams, Rod Taylor, Lauren Bacall, Eli Wallach, Mike Nichols… plus a bunch of other people who are no less regretted just because I don’t know who they are.

Editing

bloodydrums_whiplash

 

Nominees: American Sniper, BoyhoodThe Grand Budapest Hotel, The Imitation Game, and Whiplash

Who I’m rooting for: Whiplash

My prediction: Boyhood

And the award goes to: Whiplash 

Wow, I’m wrong again. So right, now I’m at 10/12. I’m actually cool with taking a loss on this one because Whiplash deserves it.

Documentary feature: I’m a slacker and didn’t predict this either. Citizenfour. Not that it means anything, but if I had predicted this category, I would have got it right.

OMG Chris Pine crying after “Glory” performance.

chrispinemanlytear

Well at least someone can pronounce Idina Menzel correctly lols. Wow they are capitalizating on the Adele Dazeem thing a lot. They’ll probably have John Travolta announce best original song until he dies now.

Best Original Song

la_ca_1021_selma

Nominees:  “Everything is Awesome” from The Lego Movie, “Glory” from Selma, “Grateful” from Beyond the Lights, “I’m Not Gonna Miss You” from Glen Campbell… I’ll Be Me, and “Lost Stars” from Begin Again

Who I’m rooting for: “Lost Stars” from Begin Again 

My prediction: “Glory” from Selma

And the award goes to: “Glory” from Selma

11/13. After you get a standing ovation and make Chris Pine cry; you get an Oscar. Which is totally and 100% valid. This speech is real, man. I might like “Lost Stars” better as a song just to listen to, but you have to admit that stuff was pretty important right there.

This is weird thing for them to do but I love The Sound of Music so much I don’t even care. #nerd And Lady Gaga’s killing it.

doremi_TheSoundOfMusic

Aaannnnnddd…… there goes the stream again. Ugh.

It’s back and Julie Andrews is here! She’s so great. And the stream’s gone again. But it’s back in time to see….

Original score

The Grand Budapest Hotel - 64th Berlin Film Festival

Nominees: Alexandre Desplat for The Grand Budapest Hotel, Alexandre Desplat for The Imitation Game, Hans Zimmer for Interstellar, Gary Yershon for Mr. Turner, and Johann Johannson for The Theory of Everything

Who I’m rooting for: Alexandre Desplat for The Grand Budapest Hotel

My prediction: Alexandre Desplat for The Grand Budapest Hotel

And the award goes to: Alexandre Desplat for The Grand Budapest Hotel

12/14. Got another one right! I’m happy Desplat finally won something, that’s awesome! Plus I can take some vindictive pleasure in The Theory of Everything not winning (even though the score was good).

 

Best Original Screenplay

keatoncantgetnorespect_birdman

Nominees: Birdman, Boyhood, The Grand Budapest Hotel, Foxcatcher, and Nightcrawler 

Who I’m rooting for: I’m basically cool with anything that’s not Boyhood, but I’ll go with Nightcrawler

My prediction: The Grand Budapest Hotel

And the award goes to: Birdman 

What?!? Didn’t see that one coming. I’m down though, I actually read Birdman and it was a pretty good read. So I’m down. Plus Inarritu seems like a cool guy. 12/15

 

Best Adapted Screenplay

dancingwithcumby_theimitationgame

Nominees: American Sniper, The Imitation Game, Inherent Vice, The Theory of Everything, and Whiplash 

Who I’m rooting for: Inherent Vice

My prediction: Whiplash

And the award goes to: The Imitation Game

12/16. Screenplay categories are messing with me, man. I think I did read about a bit about this possibly winning, so it’s not as unexpected as the other one. I honestly wouldn’t have picked it, because while it was a good story, the structure was a bit weird. (*whispers “Gone Girl” incessantly in a darkened corner*)

Speaking of, it’s Ben Affleck! Ah, he’s presenting Best Director, that’s gotta hurt. Someday Ben….

Best Director

ednortonwantshistanningbed_birdman

Nominees: Wes Anderson for The Grand Budapest Hotel, Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu for Birdman, Richard Linklater for Boyhood, Bennet Miller for Foxcatcher, and Morton Tyldum for The Imitation Game

Who I’m rooting for: Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu for Birdman

My prediction: Richard Linklater for Boyhood

And the award goes to: Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu for Birdman

I’m wrong again but I’m cool with it! 12/17. My average is going down the drain but it’s cool because I wanted Inarritu to win and he should win so that’s good.

Hopefully I can make it through the rest of the show, guys. Really tired over here. But we’re almost done!

Best Actor

endofmovie_thetheoryofeverything

Nominees: Steve Carell for Foxcatcher, Bradley Cooper for American Sniper, Benedict Cumberbatch for The Imitation Game, Michael Keaton for Birdman, and Eddie Redmayne for The Theory of Everything

Who I’m rooting for: Michael Keaton for Birdman

My prediction: Eddie Redmayne for The Theory of Everything

And the award goes to: Eddie Redmayne for The Theory of Everything

Well, at least I’m getting things right again! 13/18. Eddie Redmayne is really excited wow.

ACADEMY AWARD WINNER MATHEW MCCONAUGHEY!!!!!!! Alright! And he quotes Ebert. To bad he’s gonna give the award to the wrong person. Why did they show that specific clip out of everything crazy thing Pike did in Gone Girl, seriously?

Best Actress

sittingonaparkbench_stillalice

Nominees: Marion Cotillard for Two Days, One Night, Felicity Jones for The Theory of Everything, Julianne Moore for Still Alice, Rosamund Pike for Gone Girl, and Reese Witherspoon for Wild

Who I’m rooting for: Rosamund Pike for Gone Girl

My prediction: Julianne Moore for Still Alice

And the award goes to: Julianne Moore for Still Alice

Well, I can’t say I’m surprised. 14/19, now. Julianne Moore is great but I can’t help feeling bitter. I had no idea Kristin Stewart and Alec Baldwin were in that movie. I might watch it some day, but not any time soon.

Come on, NPH. The show’s almost over, just announce BP. I have class tomorrow….. Sean Penn argghhhhhh….. why would you with that joke……?

Best Picture

flying_birdman

Nominees: American Sniper, Birdman, Boyhood, The Grand Budapest Hotel, The Imitation Game,  Selma, The Theory of Everything, and Whiplash

Who I’m rooting for: Birdman

My prediction: Birdman

And the award goes to: Birdman

YES!!!! Hate to be mean spirited but I’m glad this won over Boyhood, but seriously, on a positive note I loved this movie and didn’t expect it to win when I first saw it, which is a change from previous years. I’m too tired to say nice things, so I’m just gonna go to sleep, but A++ on the decisions there, Academy.

So while I’m happy with the outcomes of the awards, mostly I’m just exhausted with the Academy and its long windedness. Yup, I’m never happy. So all in all, I’m way too busy to spend time on this, which is why this post is going up Tuesday after no one cares. I need it for posterity though. For the record, I did better last year at 80% than this year at 75%. So while that’s sad, it’s also good that there were some surprised in screenplay, editing, and director. I killed it in the technically categories though. Technically, BP month is still going on, but that is another thing that is going worse than last year. I might have time for two more films, but probably only one. I did get the Blindspot done though, so that’s something. Come March, I’m back to random movies. I’m looking forward to finally finishing Scorsese’s filmography and probably going to watch some PTA as well. So thanks for bearing with me through all of this, and now we can focus on more worthwhile things!

 

Leave a Reply

