Season 1, Episodes 16-20, Star Trek: The Original Series

titlesequencegif_startrektheoriginalseries

So here are the next five episodes! Most of them were pretty middle of the road and I’m starting to slow down on watching these but there were some really good ones as well. I’m two thirds of the way through the first season now!

Season 1, Episode 16: “The Galileo Seven”

thegalileoseven

Original Airdate: 5 January 1967
Directed by: Robert Gist
Wikipedia Synopsis: “Spock and a scientific party are sent to study the Murasaki 312 quasar aboard the shuttle Galileo. During the survey, the Galileo is forced to make an emergency landing on the planet Taurus II, where the crew fight the planet’s dangerous inhabitants. As the crew begin to make repairs, Scotty determines that the shuttle does not have enough fuel to reach orbit carrying all seven passengers, and Spock must contemplate leaving some of his fellow crew behind.”
Favorite Quote: “Yes I know, but fortunately I’m giving the orders”
Tumblr Commentary

This episode was decent, but mostly it just angered me. Spock ended up in command down on the planet where everyone got in trouble. He was doing the logical thing, as per usual, but everyone was ragging on him to no end and it was making me very angry. Even when he did the illogical thing, but managed to still make it logical, everyone still laughed at him! I was completely on Spock’s side the whole time, you don’t have time to bury bodies when you have to get out of there in a short amount of time or spend the rest of your short lives on some distant planet with gigantic furry killers. To be fair, Scotty was pretty solidly behind him. Other than that, the only good thing about the whole situation was that Spock could care less if people make fun of him, so he didn’t get mad at least.

Season 1, Episode 17: “The Squire of Gothos”

thesquireofgothos

Original Airdate: 12 January 1967
Directed by: Don McDougall
Wikipedia Synopsis: “The Enterprise discovers a rogue planet drifting through space, inhabited by an eccentric being named Trelane who uses his apparently unlimited power over matter and form to manipulate the crew.”
Favorite Quote: “I believe it is pronounced… ‘tallyho!’”
Tumblr Commentary

I liked this episode quite a bit. I took a big break between this one and the previous one because the previous one had annoyed me so much, and for a brief moment I thought this one might be going to same way, but it didn’t. Thank goodness. The most interesting thing about this one, besides the way Trelane spoke (very contrived), was that even by the end you never really found out who or what he was. They had concluded very early on that he was not a life form, but they never really tell you what kind of machine or construction he is. By the end, you get to see where he came from, but you definitely don’t get the whole story.

Season 1, Episode 18: “Arena”

arena

Original Airdate: 19 January 1967
Directed by: Joseph Pevney
Wikipedia Synopsis: “The Enterprise comes under attack by unknown aliens while investigating the near destruction of the Cestus III colony. While chasing the aliens into unexplored space, both ships are captured by the powerful Metrons, who force Kirk and the alien captain (later identified as a member of the Gorn race) to trial by combat: the winner’s vessel will be set free, while the loser’s ship will be destroyed.”
Favorite Quote: “Destruction might be unnecessary.”
Tumblr Commentary

This one has a lot of fighting in it, that’s really what put me off about it. It’s just not the most interesting thing to watch in my opinion. The alien in this one is so fake though; it’s probably the first example of a really fake alien on Star Trek. Most of them have looked only slightly different from humans, but here the alien was obviously a man in a reptile suit. It was hilarious. The ending also disappointed me, because Trek has done it quite frequently. I kind of want them to mix up their formula a bit, but not as they did here which is to add more fighting.

Season 1, Episode 19: “Tomorrow is Yesterday”

tomorrowisyesterday

Original Airdate: 26 January 1967
Directed by: Michael O’Herlihy
Wikipedia Synopsis: “After accidentally traveling back in time to 1969, the Enterprise rescues USAF Captain John Christopher from his crippled fighter jet. The crew struggles to return to their own time, while simultaneously returning Christopher to the Air Force, removing his knowledge of the future and all record of contact with the Enterprise.”
Favorite Quote: “I am going to lock you up for 200 years.”
Tumblr Commentary

This was a really good episode, especially if you’ve seen the original movies. They end up accidentally discovering time warp when they get to close to the sun and have to slingshot around it to get away. This is what happens in The Voyage Home, and they make a reference to it, so it was good to see the actual show that they were talking about. They also had more conflicts over messing with the space time continuum than in the film, so that was interesting as well.

Season 1, Episode 20: “Court Martial”

courtmartial

Original Airdate: 2 February 1967
Directed by: Marc Daniels
Wikipedia synopsis: “Captain Kirk is placed on trial for negligence after a crewman is killed during a severe ion storm. Kirk maintains that his actions were proper and should not have led to the officer’s death, but the evidence seems strong against him. Will Kirk’s crew be able to save the captain from conviction?”
Favorite quote: “I don’t assign jobs on the basis of who blames me, it was Finney’s turn so I assigned him!”
Tumblr Commentary

This was a really good episode. It’s really ironic that I watched it when I did because I had just seen Paths of Glory the night before. (Both involve court martials.) Spock really came through for us on this episode, and there was a twist ending that I did not see coming. Though I’m pretty sure that the computer logs shouldn’t be classified as a witness. They’re just evidence, right? Still, good episode.

It took me longer to get through these than I had hoped, but I did get through them and soon I’ll be starting on the next five. I’m getting to the point where I don’t feel too motivated to finish, but not because I don’t want to watch Star Trek, just because I have a lot of movies to watch as well. Nevertheless, I am making progress and I hope to be done with the first season soon.

Click here to read reviews of the next group of episodes (S1, E21-25)

4 responses to “Season 1, Episodes 16-20, Star Trek: The Original Series

  1. Hi, Hunter:

    Great and favorite episodes well laid out!

    Extremely under rated character actor William Campbell snootily rocks out loud as Squire Trelane. Distant relation to the much later “Q”. And his creepily spot on portrayal of a spoiled, overgrown kid who lacks play mates, but enjoys pulling the wings off flies.

    While ‘Arena’ takes its own sweet time in introducing the Gorn, but the cat and mouse game and pay off is well the wait!

    The conundrum of time travel is pretty well laid out in ‘Tomorrow is Yesterday’. Always get a kick of the very 1960s great big computer room and its magnetic tape reels and blinking lights. Which could easily be replaced by a laptop, today.

    ‘Court Martial’ works on all levels due to perpetual sap, Elisha Cook, Jr. playing Kirk’s lawyer. Delivering splendid soliloquies and coming out on top for a refreshing change!

    • Trelane was pretty hilarious. Loved the ending to that one, very mysterious.
      Yeah, Arena was kind of meh for me. I didn’t really get into it that much, but it wasn’t bad either.
      The time travel in Tomorrow is Yesterday definitely made it my favorite out of all of these. Yeah seeing the sixties technology was pretty crazy!
      I liked Court Martial as well. Though I still feel like the footage they got from the computer doesn’t make the computer a witness; it’s just evidence. The computer didn’t really accuse him at all. Just provided the evidence. Still, really good episode.

  2. yeah the gorn fight scene is a really famous/infamous moment in tos, along with the fight scene from amok time. good sequence of episodes, i would have to agree with you on galileo 7 though, spock getting hate makes me mad too. i never have believed in little green men!

    • Won’t lie, I was kind of tuning out a bit for that. Ah well. When he first showed up I laughed my head off 🙂
      Yeah. Galileo 7 made me very mad. It’s one of the ones I have liked the least so far.

Leave a Reply

