Announcing My Participation in the Five Obstructions Blogathon

The 5 Obstructions Blogathon_blackAnd it’s time for me to participate in another blogathon! I’ve done two so far, but they were both a walk in the park compared to the long, grueling haul this is going to be. “The Five Obstructions Blogathon” has officially started, and the object of this one is to write five different posts according to the constraints the creator of the blogathon, Nostra of My Filmviews, puts out each month. Five months, five obstructions, and ultimately five posts. Since this is such a big undertaking, I’ve decided to officially announce my participation in it.

The idea for the blogathon came from a documentary, called The Five Obstructions, in which a director had to remake his film five times under various constraints. Keeping with this spirit, I’ve decided to do all of my reviews on the same film, making each one different based on the obstruction Nostra puts out. The film I’m choosing and the nature of the first obstruction is another reason I’m devoting an entire post to explaining the blogathon. The first obstruction is to write a negative review of a film you love, or a positive review of a film you hate. I decided to go with the first one, since I’ll be watching it every month for the next five months. As long as it doesn’t kill me to write bad things about it.

It very well might. I wanted to choose a film I was very familiar with. I wanted to choose a film I thought I knew everything about. A film I had grown up with and could never imagine viewing differently (in this case, not loving it). I also wanted to pick one that was pretty familiar to everyone, and since I’m going with the negative approach here, one that is as close to being universally loved as you can get. I’ve decided to go with Singin’ in the Rain.

There are few films I know as well as Singin’ in the Rain. I feel like I’ve known it since birth, maybe even sooner. I don’t ever remember not knowing it. When all of the other kids were watching The Lion King or whatever, this, and some other musicals, is what I was watching. Singin’ in the Rain is not currently in my top ten films, but it’s due for an update and it probably should be. It’s my second favorite movie musical after The Band Wagon, which I didn’t choose because that really would kill me to write bad things about and it’s not as universally recognized or acclaimed.

I’m going to update this post throughout the blogathon to make sure I can keep track of all the posts I do on this film, and this will be the post linked in my “All the Films” page. I’ll add the links to all my reviews here once I publish them:

Singin’ in the Rainhonest review
Singin’ in the RainThe First Obstruction
Singin’ in the RainThe Second Obstruction
Singin’ in the Rain… The Third Obstruction (wimped out on)
Singin’ in the RainThe Fourth Obstruction (on another film, Prisoners (2013), because my honest review had already fit the requirements)
Singin’ in the Rain… The Fifth Obstruction

I don’t even know how I’m going to accomplish the first obstruction, and I’m also worried about the others that haven’t been announced yet, but I think I can do it and I’m excited to get started. Good luck to everyone participating, and if haven’t considered joining I would highly recommend it.

singinintherain_singinintherain

12 responses to “Announcing My Participation in the Five Obstructions Blogathon

  1. oooh, this sounds like a great blogathon. I can’t imagine writing bad things about Singin’ in the Rain…! I hope I can still join in, it should be fun šŸ™‚

    • Yeah I was really intrigued by it to when I first saw it! I’m pretty sure you still have time you join; he’s giving everyone a month for each obstruction so you should be good šŸ™‚
      I have some hidden resentments towards that movie, another reason why I picked. It’s great, and I love it to death, but I do think it’s slightly overrated. So I’ll have something to write about.

    • Yeah Sofia, of course you can join. Just send me the link once you have your post up (before the end of the month) and I’ll add it to the overview I have made.

      • Thank you! Now that sci-fi is over it’s time for a change!
        I’m curious to see what the others are as well. I was a bit worried about picking a film when I didn’t know the rest of them, but I just decided to go for it.

  2. Nice to hear you are joining this blogathon and making it harder for yourself doing it for the same movie…really like that. Really interested about your approach for each one of them.

    • Ha ha! Thanks! Me too, since I don’t know what they will be yet šŸ™‚
      My review for the first obstruction’s probably going to be up by next week! I have one review that I haven’t written yet scheduled before then, but I’ll be working on it very very soon!

Leave a comment