High Noon

poster_highnoon

High Noon is not necessarily a bad movie, but it’s one that failed to reach me. I recognized what it was doing, but it didn’t really work. This is one of those old Hollywood movies that is fairly enjoyable, but doesn’t go beyond anything more than that because it tells you what to feel and when to feel it.

Will Kane (Gary Cooper) is the newly retired Marshal of Hadleyville, and is leaving town because he just married Amy (Grace Kelly). When news comes out that one of his former collars, Frank Miller, has been released from prison, he decides to remain the Marshal until he gets there. His wife opposes his fighting, because as a Quaker it is against her religion. The two argue about how necessary it is that he fight while Kane attempts to round up a posse. Everyone in town is either on Miller’s side or doesn’t want to get involved in a gunfight, not matter how good the reason. When Miller’s train rolls in at noon, Kane will have to fight him alone.

gcoopgkell_highnoon

It is clear what we are supposed to be feeling during this film. We’re supposed to feel indignation that no one will help Kane, maybe sympathize with Amy’s objections to violence, but ultimately we’re supposed to strongly identify with the lone hero who is tragically without friends. His work goes unappreciated while he faces dangers that none of the other townspeople would dare to, etc etc… The problem is the film goes on and on giving us evidence of this when it’s pretty clear in the opening frames. The film has no problem shoving its message down our throats; the music is overwrought, which matches the acting of almost every supporting player. There are films that have done this to a greater extent, but I was still not happy to see it here.

Much has been made about this film taking place in almost real time. This is a gimmick that ultimately does not serve the movie very well. It doesn’t harm it, but it doesn’t really help it either. For it to work, the film would have to be set in one place. We’re cutting between the station where Miller’s gang is waiting for him, Kane wandering all over town trying to find help, and Amy waiting in the hotel. This cutting around basically erases the tension that would have been created by having it take place in real time. Normal movies cut around like this, and we know these events are all taking place at once, so the conceit of real time ends up not making any difference. The film makes a big deal about it too, showing characters checking the time all over the place. The thing is, movies have been doing this and lying about the time forever, so we don’t really notice here when the movie’s telling the truth.

millersgang_highnoon

Some things were however, pretty interesting. For one, this was Lee Van Cleef’s (most famous for For a Few Dollars More and The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly) film debut. He doesn’t have a word of dialogue and also has minimal screen time, but he is definitely recognizable. Maybe just because I already know who he is, but he has a distinct presence in the film, which is furthered by his not speaking. A more substantial thing I appreciated about this film was how Zinnemann and company managed to make Miller’s presence felt even when he was absent, which was the vast majority of the film. I might not really have been able to get too worked up about this movie, but the times when I came the closest were when they were emphasizing Miller’s presence. A great example of this is the association of him with the chair he sat in during his trial. Zinnemann goes a little nuts with the fast close-ups and outs with the chair, but it’s effective anyway.

There are a few things I appreciated about High Noon, but most of it just didn’t work for me. To be clearer, this isn’t a film I disliked or anything, but I probably wouldn’t bother watching it again because I’m definitely not in love with it either. It’s problems aren’t too noticeable, but when you step back and wonder why the movie didn’t affect you too much, they become obvious. In the end though, I’m basically indifferent to this movie.

garycooperlookingheroic_highnoon

“Don’t try to be a hero! You don’t have to be a hero, not for me!”

Long story short: 2.5/4 stars

10 responses to “High Noon

  1. I really like the way you write Hunter. I love High Noon, I love the tension and the way it has a hero that is actually frightened about whats coming. It makes a nice change from the sort of westerns that usually come from that time.

    It’s quite a well known fact that John Wayne hated High Noon. He thought it was un-American

    • Thanks!

      Yeah that could very well be. I haven’t seem many westerns from the 50s actually, so when you view it in that context it might hold up a lot better.

      Ha ha that’s actually really funny! I can kind of see what he’s saying, though I definitely wouldn’t criticize the film based on that.

  2. Hi Melissa! I’ve been curious about this film for ages, and mostly because I still need to see a Gary Cooper film! But I’m generally not fond of Westerns (with a few exceptions), so I probably would rather check out his other works. Any recommendations?

    • Hey Ruth! I actually haven’t seen too much of Gary Cooper, just this film, A Farewell to Arms (would not recommend), and a portion of Sergeant York. I was quite intrigued by Sergeant York and I was watching it on tv and had something else to do so I never finished it. I think that’s a reasonably well known film so I supposed I would recommend that. Looking through his filmography the one I would be most interested in watching is For Whom the Bell Tolls, mostly because it has Ingrid Bergman. Sorry I couldn’t be more helpful but I hope that helps a bit anyway!

      • Thanks for the recommendation! I’m also intrigued by Mr. Deeds Goes to Town since it’s by Capra and supposedly similar to Mr Smith Goes to Washington.

  3. I agree with your review. I feel like this film gets way too much love because of its historical context: every review/analysis/etc. I’ve ever seen of High Noon gives it extra credit for supposedly being an allegory for McCarthyism.

    • Sorry for the delay in replying, I was out of town over the weekend and didn’t really get a chance to blog at all.
      I actually had not thought of that at all; I had just sort of taken the movie at face value and been like “look guys, it doesn’t really work all that well.” Had I realized the social commentary while watching it, I may have praised it more but I still wouldn’t have given it full marks or anything.

  4. Hi, Hunter:

    Gary Cooper marked his territory and staked his claim with ‘High Noon’.
    Always liked Lloyd Bridges’ supporting role in this film. Which would be the touchstone for countless later Westerns and even a Sci~Fi film (Outland).

Leave a Reply

